Mushroom Soup

mushroomsA couple of weeks ago I had a hankering for mushroom soup, but not any mushroom soup I’d ever had before. I’m not a big fan of cream of mushroom soup, and many other recipes I’ve found have more of an oriental flavour than I was in the mood for right then. I scoured my recipe books, and when nothing seemed right, I decided to take matters into my own hands and just make what I wanted.

This is a warm, comforting soup with enough vegetables in it to make it a light meal, and full of umami, that elusive fifth taste that satisfies us so much. The soup can be made pareve by using oil instead of butter, and while I’ve thickened it slightly with flour, you can easily make it gluten-free by using corn starch or potato starch instead of the flour. I hope you like it.

Mushroom Soup

  • 1/2 ounce dried mushrooms
  • 2 cups boiling water
  • 2 TBSP butter
  • 1 large onion, diced small
  • 1 large carrot, in smallish chunks
  • 1 stick celery, in smallish chunks
  • 8 ounces mushrooms – your favourite or a mixture – sliced
  • 1 TBSP flour
  • 4 cups water
  • 1 tsp salt, or more, to taste
  • 2 TBSP wine or sherry

Soak the dried mushrooms in the boiling water and let sit until the water is room temperature.

Melt the butter in a soup pot and let it brown slightly. Add the onions and fry till they are medium-brown, and then add the carrot and celery, letting them also brown a bit.  Add the fresh mushrooms and cook until they have expelled their liquid. Drain the dried mushrooms, reserving the soaking water. Slice the soaked mushrooms.

Stir the flour into the vegetable mixture and then add the soaking water from the dried mushrooms, being careful not to pour in any grit or sand at the bottom of the bowl. Add the rest of the water, the dried mushrooms, the salt and the sherry, and bring to a gentle boil. Let simmer for 20 minutes and adjust the seasonings.

This is delicious with a hunk of brie on the side.

8 thoughts on “Mushroom Soup

  1. sounds delicious. I’m going to give it a shot later on – will leave out the sherry (don’t have any around the house!) but I will add garlic (of course) and I’d like to throw in some herbs – I’m thinking some thyme would work well. Will let you know how it works out

    • Yes, please let me know what you do with this. I used what I had in the house that day, and was very happy with my creation, but it’s so much fun to see what other people do with the same basic idea. Have fun and stay warm!

Leave a Reply

