Tea for Two… and a Few

Every year, one of my husband’s cousins has a big family get-together in December. With all the holidays, it is almost always possible to find a day when everyone is free, and it is a lovely time to get together with people we don’t see often enough.

This year, however, the ice storm messed up the plans. The cousin who was hosting only got her power back two days ago, and had so much damage to her house that she was unable to put on a party for so many people. We had survived the storm a bit better, and so we decided to offer our house instead, and today, a variety of cousins and aunts and uncles descended upon to eat, drink, and be merry. It was quite the tea party!

We are the only ones of this part of the family to keep a kosher kitchen, which meant I needed to do all the baking. To be honest, while it is a lot of work, I have really enjoyed my recent Cookie Production Frenzy, and was happy to have the opportunity to bake a bit more. I made some tried and true recipes, as well a new babka-type cake that I put together from two of the amazing Michal‘s wonderful recipes.

Poppy seed babka

The result was beyond delicious. Our guests could not stop talking about it.

Her recipe for the dough is found here: https://www.facebook.com/photo.php?fbid=616278645106695&set=a.316055921795637.71866.315981911803038&type=1&theater.

The poppy seed filling recipe in found in this post: https://www.facebook.com/media/set/?set=a.471915992876295.106524.315981911803038&type=1

I used about half of the poppy seed recipe for the amount of dough, which means I have extra. I will have to use it up by making another cake, since I only got a small taste of the one I made for today!

Here is some of what else we served.

Laura’s Nana’s Italian Christmas Cookies

Laura's Nana's Italian Christmas Cookies

 

Corrupted Chocolate Chunk Cookies

Chocolate cookies

Lemon-Blueberry Biscotti

lemon-blueberry biscotti

 

Apricot and Cherry Scones

(yes, I know – I still need to get the hang of the whipped cream gadget!)

scones

 

3 thoughts on “Tea for Two… and a Few

Leave a Reply

