Pizza

Pizza, ready for the oven

Pizza, ready for the oven

Pizza has developed a somewhat undeserved reputation as junk food. Indeed, it can be junk food, if an all-white flour crust is covered with processed tomato sauce, questionable slices of processed meat, and something vaguely resembling cheese.

Pizza can also be a gourmet dish, or a delivery mechanism for all sorts of fruits and vegetables, depending on what goes into, and onto, it.

My family loves pizza, although we don’t make it too often. Still, it’s a nice treat on a night when we all have a few minutes at home. Last night I made up a crust slightly different from my usual one, since I had no semolina, and went through the fridge looking for toppings. We had zucchini, mushrooms, red bell peppers, yellow bell peppers, broccoli, olives and feta, as well as the usual suspects of tomato sauce and cheddar and mozzarella cheeses. Because everyone here has slightly different tastes (nothing green for my daughter, no olives for me), we made up three pies. The leftovers will make our lunches for the rest of the week.

I won’t give a recipe, per se, since everyone’s tastes run differently, but I will write down my usual crust ingredients, and I will invited everyone to share your favourite pizza toppings and combinations. Shiitake and gorganzola? Brie and roasted pears? Asparagus and garlic, no cheese? Thick crust? Thin crust? What do you enjoy on pizza?

My standard crust has 1 cup semolina flour, 1 cup bread flour, 1 cup whole wheat flour, 1/2 TBSP yeast, 1 tsp salt, 1 TBSP sugar, a splash of olive oil, and about 1 cup of warm water.

10 thoughts on “Pizza

  1. Do you want to know the opinion of an Italian? Pizza was born in Italia and we don’t beleve it is a junk food.
    We usually eat pizza once a week. Our pizza is quite different from yours. We use less ingredients, it is more simple.
    Pizza margherita is the top for many of italians but we also like capricciosa or mushrooms.
    If you want I can share my recipe with you.
    Bye bye from Rome!

    • Thanks for your comments! I don’t think pizza needs to be junk food at all! I remember those amazing pizzas I had in Italy, with the perfect tomato sauce and thin crusts. I learned to ask for my “pizza con funghi” very quickly.

      I would love to see your recipe, if you don’t mind sharing. Thank you!

  2. Your pizzas look so healthy and full of flavor. Yes, pizza is a special treat – especially a homemade one using your basic crust and the fabulous toppings you just had “laying around”! πŸ™‚ Do you make your crust in the food processor? How long do you allow it to rise? I love pizzas with pesto, goat cheese and roasted vegetables or squash – or a sweet pizza with gorgonzola, fig jam and rosemary! πŸ™‚ Lovely photos, Beverlee.

    • Pizza is one of the easiest breads to make, because it requires so little kneading and rising time, and you have a lot of freedom in what you add to the crust. It also works on pita or tortillas, and we love it as a way to get maximum veggies per square inch! πŸ˜€

  3. I like olives on my pizza. I LOVE olives. I like pesto too, and I had recently had a thin-crust pizza with radicchio, blue cheese, and potato – it was really amazing!

    Your pizza looks delicious!

Leave a Reply

