Black Bean Salsa

DSC00732

We had planned to have vegetarian burritos for a quick meal the other day, but when I went through my fridge, I discovered that the salsa I thought was good had gone off. Not wishing to run off to the shops again, and feeling creative, I took a look at what was in my kitchen and started assembling something in lieu of the regular old tomato-based salsa.

I almost always have cans of beans lying around, because my kids, especially my daughter, adore beans. Black beans are a favourite. The corn was thawed from the bag in the freezer, although freshly cooked is always best. And limes, cilantro and scallions are staples in the fridge. As for the tomato, I’m as likely not to have tomatoes as I am not to have garlic. Heaven forbid!

The mixture that I created can be used as a chunky fresh salsa as well as a salad. It’s yummy either way. However you use it, feel free to play with proportions and the spicing. We enjoyed the result so much, my husband suggested I write down what I did.

This is what I did!

Black Bean Salsa

  • 1 can black beans, rinsed and drained
  • 1 cup (or a bit more) corn kernels
  • 1 green onion, finely sliced
  • 1 bunch cilantro, finely chopped
  • 1 tomato, diced
  • 1/2 tsp chili powder
  • juice of 1/2 lime, or about 1 TBSP, to taste

Mix all the ingredients in a large bowl. Check flavourings. Enjoy on chili, in tacos or burritos, as a salad, or anyhow you choose! Bon appetit.

DSC00734

One thought on “Black Bean Salsa

Leave a Reply

