Teriyaki-Style Quinoa Bowl with Vegetables, Baked Tofu and Mango

DSC00762Sometimes inspiration comes from unexpected places. In the case of this yummy dish, it was an excellent price on quinoa at Costco the other week. I haven’t been making quinoa as much as I used to, but we do eat it and I bought the bag. Then I came home and realized that I still had an almost-full bag sitting in the pantry already. The solution? Eat more quinoa! Fortunately, we really like the stuff, so the challenge was finding yet another great way to serve it.

I hunted around on-line for recipes, and found a few things that looked pretty good, but I felt the need to tinker with pretty much everything I found. This is the result.

A few comments:

Baked Tofu – YES! If you haven’t tried this before, do yourself a favour. I know tofu has a not-so-yummy reputation, but trust me. You marinate it in soy sauce and sesame oil for a while, then bake it till it’s crispy, and you’ll never look back. My beautiful daughter, whose motto is “I’m not going to like that,” has requested that I make it for her school lunches.

DSC00749

Quinoa – First and most important rule: Rinse it. Rinse it well. Quinoa has a bitter coating, and you don’t want to eat that. Rinse it off. Then it’s really delicious. You can cook quinoa like rice, in twice the quantity of water (eg. 2 cups water for each cup of quinoa), but it’s so easy to make in a rice cooker. When I bought my rice cooker, I never imagined I’d use it as often as I do, but it’s on the counter every week, usually with quinoa inside. It wasn’t expensive or fancy, and it works like a charm.

Mango – if you find fresh and wish to chop up a mango, more power to you. I’m lazy and keep frozen mango in the freezer, because it’s convenient and always there when I need it. And it makes a great snack.

My lovely new bowls – The day I decided to try this dish for the first time,  I happened to buy my ingredients at a supermarket attached to a mall with a fun shop full of Japanese and other East Asian products. I was really just browsing, but these bowls were so pretty, I bought four, each with a different colour glaze inside.

DSC00754

Teriyaki-Style Quinoa Bowl with Vegetables, Baked Tofu, and Mango

  • 2 scoops quinoa in the rice cooker (this works out to about 1 1/3 cup quinoa)
  • 1 block extra-firm tofu
    • 1 TBSP soy sauce
    • 1 TBSP sesame oil
  • 1 bell pepper, in thin wedges
  • 1 large carrot, julienned
  • 1 cup snow peas
  • splash of vegetable oil
  • 1 cup diced mango
  • 1 green onion, thinly sliced

Teriyaki Sauce

  • 2 TBSP soy sauce
  • 1 TBSP sesame oil
  • 1 TBSP rice wine vinegar
  • ½ TBSP honey or maple syrup
  • 1 clove garlic, crushed
  • ½ TBSP ginger, minced
  • 1 tsp lime juice
  1. Cook the quinoa according to package directions. If doing it on the stove-top, use 1 1/3 cup quinoa and 2 1/2 cups water.
  2. Bake the tofu: Cube the tofu and let marinate in the 1 TBSP soy sauce and 1 TBSP sesame oil for at least 10 minutes. Transfer everything, liquid and all, to a baking sheet that’s been covered in parchment and bake 40 minutes at 375F, flipping part-way through. It you like it crispier, bake a few minutes longer.
  3. Meanwhile, stir-fry the carrots in a splash of oil for a few minutes to soften them, then add the snow peas and bell peppers.
  4. Mix the sauce ingredients in a small container and whisk together well.
  5. When everything is ready, prepare your bowls. Scoop some quinoa into a bowl, top with the sautéed veggies, the mango, tofu and green onions, and drizzle with about 1 TBSP of the teriyaki sauce on each one.

Makes enough for 4.

Bon Appetit

DSC00763

Leave a Reply

